9.30AM - 7PM Mon-Fri



Geography and Demographics

The Republic of Nauru is an island country located in Micronesia in the Central Pacific. It lies 40 kilometers south of the equator and its capital is Yaren. With an area of 21 km2 and a population of 10,000, Nauru is the smallest country in the Pacific Ocean. Nauru has two official languages: English and Nauruan.


Nauru is one of the world’s smallest democratic states. It is a republic, and its parliament is elected every three years by popular vote.


Nauru’s major economic activity is phosphate mining, however in recent years this has declined. It also grows a number of varieties of tropical fruit. Its currency is the Australian Dollar (AUD).


Nauru’s coral reef makes it an ideal location for tourism. While it does not receive many international visitors, its diverse marine means Nauru is a perfect country to visit for SCUBA diving, fishing and snorkeling.

Related News

Message from the Global Network Secretariat

Published on: 13 March, 2018

University of Fiji Sponsorship

Published on: 14 January, 2018

Focal Point

Vania Scotty

Vania is the POLHN focal point for Nauru.






General Information

Official Name Republic of Nauru
Capital Yaren
Official Languages Nauruan, English
Area 21 km2
Population 10,084
Currency Australian Dollar

Related Posts

Sign up to our newsletter

The POLHN newsletter is sent out monthly to subscribers and students. This contains information on the latest POLHN news, featured courses, and sponsorship opportunities. Sign up below to stay up-to-date.

© Copyrights are reserved to Pacific Open Learning Health Net, 2019

Disclaimer: This website is made possible by the support of the Division of Pacific Technical Support (DPS) through the World Health Organisation (WHO). The information provided on this website is not official WHO information and does not necessarily represent the views or positions of WHO. Read our full Privacy and Copyright Policies.